top of page

Writing A Scene

V0.1

EXT. FARMERS MARKET IN AUTUMN


JULES, BAILEY and CORNELIUS walk through a farmers market in Werecar. Bailey carries a basket while Ezra carries Cornelius the dachshund puppy. it’s early autumn and the market is free from the usual hustle & bustle, the aisles are clear allowing for them to move freely. There’s a smell of bratwurst and coffee in the morning air and in the steam emanating from the coffee stand can be seen far in the distance.


Bailey begins to pick at the sour tomatoes, checking them for firmness.


BAILEY

Do you love me?


JULES

Yes.


BAILEY

Prove it. What’s the metric? Give me the number, the one that helps me know. Cos when you met me, you didn’t love me.


BAILEY

Tell me the day the love happened.


Jules takes a huge breath filling out the lungs, pauses, and with a roll of the eyes looks away to the right.


BAILEY

It’s an impossible question. It's not about the events...


Jules holds onto Cornelius tighter.


BAILEY

...it's not about intensity, it’s about consistency. I didn’t fall in love with you because you remembered my birthday or because you bought me flowers on Valentine’s Day. I fell in love with you the day I woke up in the morning and you said “Good morning” to me, before Cornelius...

Cornelius hearing his name raises his head to attention with his ears perked up. You can just about make out his eyes under the visor of his flat cap.


BAILEY

... before you looked at your phone.


Cornelius barks at the sound of a squeal from the left nostril of Bailey.


BAILEY

I fell in love with you because when you made yourself a drink...


Jules reaches down to place Cornelius on the pebbled floor before feeding him a treat from a jacket pocket. With a subtle wipe of the nose, Bailey looks up.


...you made me one without even asking. I fell in love with you because when you had an amazing day at work and I came home after a terrible day at work you didn't rush to say “Let me tell you about my day”. I can’t tell you exactly what day and it was no particular thing you did, it was an accumulation of lots of little things. I woke up one day and I just knew.


JULES

(Sighing)

So you got your new crocs?

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page